FIN的使命是什么?

“在这个以通讯和信息为主、危机涌动的世界,人类面临的根本挑战仍旧潜伏在浪潮之下。在未来的25年中,若我们不采取任何改变,海洋鱼类将不复存在。目前,我们还依赖于海洋资源作为饲养水产动物的主要原料。随着经济的发展,人类的营养需求也在日益增长,每年大约需要增加5000万吨的鱼来满足 。 除非找到新的饲料原料来替代海洋动物成分,否则海洋鱼类就将灭绝,世界也将面临蛋白质短缺的危机。

创建FIN饲料创新联盟,因为我们相信创新能够解决上述难题。事实上,我们已经看到了许多创新的解决方案。因此,我们FIN的目标非常简单明确:

我们会不懈努力地收集创新的想法和解决方案,以可再生和可持续的方式来养活日益增长的世界人口。我们愿意帮助有愿景和有能力将这愿景变为现实的公司对接,携手为地球和子孙后代打造一个繁荣昌盛的未来。我们将不遗余力地识别、策划、培育、激励那些正在探索将解决方案规模化的先锋公司。只有通过创新者、生产者、投资者、科学家和梦想家们的齐心协力,我们才能够取得成功。” — Jon Duschinsky, 北美 AgriProtein 执行总裁

-Jon Duschinsky

FIN的战略是什么?
促进全球的民间组织、科学家、私营企业之间的协作努力,以加速创新性水产饲料原料替代品的商业化,减轻野生鱼类的捕捞压力。该战略将通过共享测试评估方法,建立原料数据库,以及定期会议和通讯来实现。
什么是FIN原料数据库?

FIN的主要目的之一是分享测试评估方法,并在数据库中提供那些通过共享测试方法得到的替代原料信息。共享测试方法的目的是让各种替代原料的性能具有可比性。为便于搜索,数据库将提供鱼类生理和水产饲料性能的相关数据(包括但不限于原料类型、营养价值、适口性和消化率试验等相关数据)。该数据库将对公众开放。

利用副渔获物和水产品加工下脚料生产鱼粉和鱼油可能存在哪些问题?

目前已有许多关于回收利用副渔获物和水产品加工下脚料作为水产饲料原料的好信息,通常用于投喂不同的品种。这不失为一种提高资源利用效率的好方法,但也存在许多问题。副渔获物和水产品加工下脚料也可以并越来越多地用作人类食物。此外,大量捕获海洋中的小型鱼类(饵料鱼和副渔获物),会影响到食物链中营养级更高的动物例如海鸟、海洋哺乳动物和大型鱼类。许多研究已经证实了大型捕食物种的减少。值得一提的是,利用加工下脚料生产的鱼粉和鱼油,质量相对于全鱼鱼粉和鱼油较差,因为加工过程中高质量的蛋白质和油已被移除。虽然基于下脚料(骨架和鳞片等)的鱼粉质量较差,但仍提供了全球10-15% 的鱼粉供应,某种意义上扩大了鱼粉的供应 。

我们是一家原料公司,希望能为水产饲料行业提供原料。我们怎样才能确定市场潜力,并进入到水产饲料行业?

出于节约成本的原因, 水产饲料公司对鱼粉和鱼油的替代原料有着浓厚的兴趣。但是, 原料替代有着一定的风险。为了向水产饲料公司证明您的原料具有保证性,建议您遵循我们F3的原料评估流程对您的原料进行评估。here.

有充分的证据表明, 在饮食中添加DHA 和 EPA 等 omega-3 脂肪酸对人类的健康非常有益, 能够促进生长、提高免疫、并改善心血管和脑健康。然而, 人体能否将短链 omega-3脂肪酸例如在植物和种子中发现的 ALA 和 SDA, 转化为更长的例如 EPA 和 DHA这样的长链omega-3脂肪酸呢 ?如果可以的话, 这是否意味着人类不用再依赖含有天然长链 omega-3脂肪酸的食物,比如鱼类了呢?

虽然人体可以通过合成转换ALA和 SDA获得EPA和DHA,但由于转化效率低,强烈建议从其他来源 (包括鱼类和其他海洋产品) 获取。1研究显示,转化效率的差异性较大, 但通常情况下,仅有不到10% 的ALA能被转化为 EPA 和 DHA。2, 3.

1 http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/other-nutrients/essential-fatty-acids#metabolism-bioavailability
2 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9637947
3 http://www.dhaomega3.org/Overview/Conversion-Efficiency-of-ALA-to-DHA-in-Humans

F3反对水产养殖在饲料中使用鱼类原料吗?

不。事实上,F3正在考虑设置另外一个奖项,专门奖励回收养殖鱼类加工下脚料用于生产饲料的公司。至于目前的这个奖项,我们希望有更多种类的的鱼油替代源以供选择, 因为当前水产饲料中油类成分的主要来源仍旧是野生捕捞鱼类特别是饵料鱼,供应风险较大。未来需要更多创新,去寻找鱼油替代源和经济可行的配方,才能确保水产业的持续增长。

What is FIN's mission?

“In a world dominated by communication and information, a world that jumps from crisis to crisis, there is a fundamental challenge to humanity that is lurking just beneath the waves. Within 25 years, if nothing changes, we will have fished the oceans into extinction. Today, we continue to need the ocean to feed the animals that we eat. And a growing global population that is moving out of poverty means that we will shortly need 50 million more tons of fish. Every year. Unless our human ingenuity can pioneer new ways of feeding the animals we need to eat, there will be no more fish in the sea, and there will be a protein-shortage world-wide.

At the Feed Innovation Network, we believe that this ingenuity exists. Indeed we believe that many of the solutions that we will need to feed the planet have already been invented. And as a result, our promise is simple and our mandate is real and unwavering:

We will work tirelessly to bring together those with ideas and solutions to create renewable and sustainable ways to feed our planet. We will engage those with vision and those with the means to transform that vision into reality so that together we create a tomorrow where we have the means to nourish both our planet and our children. Our determination will not wane to identify, curate, nurture, and inspire those who are pioneering and scaling the solutions for sustainably feeding our growing global population. For we know that only when we, the innovators, producers, investors, scientists and dreamers, all come together as equals can we hope to succeed.”

— Jon Duschinsky

What is FIN's strategy?
Our strategy is to facilitate a collaborative effort between NGOs, researchers, companies and private partnerships to accelerate the commercialization of innovative, alternative aquaculture feed ingredients to replace wild-caught fish. Central to this strategy is a global collaboration through shared protocols, an ingredient database, and through periodic meetings and newsletters.
What is FIN's database?

One of the major goals of FIN is to share experimental and testing protocols, and to make information available that are yielded from these shared protocols in a database on alternative ingredients used in fish feed.  The shared protocols makes it possible for ingredient efficacy to be compared, in a searchable format that displays relevant data for fish physiology and aquafeed performance (including but not limited to ingredient types, nutritional value, any available palatability and digestibility trial related data… etc.).  This database will be provided for public access.

What are some of the concerns with using bycatch and seafood processing byproducts for fish meal and fish oils?

There is a lot of good information on fishing bycatch and the processed waste of seafood being used as ingredients back into aquaculture diets, normally for unrelated species. While we agree that these are efficient uses of these resources, there are also many problems. Bycatch and seafood processing byproducts are often and increasingly used for direct human consumption. In addition, removing forage fish and bycatch from the ocean impacts animals higher in the marine food chain, such as seabirds, marine mammals, and larger fish. Many studies have documented the decline in large predatory species. It is also important to point out that processing waste produces low-quality fish meal and fish oil, as high-quality protein and oils have been removed. The high bone and scale content meal that is left is an inferior ingredient, but nevertheless does contribute 10-15% of the global fish meal supply and extends the supply of fish meal as overfishing continues in some parts of the world.

We have an ingredient company with an ingredient that is promising for aquaculture. What do I need to do to determine the market potential, and break into the aquafeed industry?

Aquafeed companies are keenly interested in alternative ingredients to replace fishmeal and fish oil, because of their high cost. But, ingredient replacement is risky. To prove to aquafeed companies that your ingredient has promise, we recommend you follow the recommended Ingredient Evaluation Process outlined here.

It is well documented that the inclusion of omega-3 fatty acids, including docosahexaenoic acid (DHA) and eicosapentaenoic acid or (EPA), in the human diet are beneficial by supporting normal growth, immunity, and improving cardiovascular and brain health. However, can the human body convert short chain omega-3s, including alpho-lenic acid (ALA) and stearidonic acid (SDA) found in plants and seeds, into longer chain omega-3s, including EPA and DHA? If so, does this negate the need for humans to consume foods that contain naturally occurring long-chain omega-3s, like fish?

While EPA and DHA can be synthesized from ALA and SDA in the human body, due to low conversion efficiency, it is highly recommended to obtain EPA and DHA from additional sources, including fish and other marine products1. Studies have shown a great deal of variability, but typically less than 10% of ALA is converted to EPA and DHA2, 3.

1 http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/other-nutrients/essential-fatty-acids#metabolism-bioavailability
2 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9637947
3 http://www.dhaomega3.org/Overview/Conversion-Efficiency-of-ALA-to-DHA-in-Humans

Are you against using seafood in aquaculture feeds?

No. In fact, we are considering another prize targeted towards recycling farmed fish waste. However, we want to increase the options available for alternative oil sources for aquafeeds since the supply of wild caught fish and in particular forage fish, which are the most common source of oil used in aquafeeds, is at risk. More innovation is needed to find additional ingredients and cost effective formulations if the industry is to continue to grow.